Why are Zombies so Popular?

I started with the classics.  No, I am not talking classic literature like Lord of the Flies or Catcher in the Rye.  Movies such as Night of the Living Dead and Dawn of the Dead engrossed me and plain grossed me out.  Soon after, I moved on to 28 Days Later, Shaun of the Dead and Zombieland.  I especially love the scene when Bill Murray bites it in Zombieland.

The combination of social commentary, humor, and horror intrigued me.  And yes, there is a meaning behind all the hoards of brainless undead roaming the streets and eating the living.  A discussion of exactly what it all might mean can wait for another day.

All I can hope for today is that I do the genre justice and that the zombies in Apocalipstick are heinous enough to make you wonder what was going on in my life while I was writing.

Leave a Reply

