TOP 10 FAVORITE SNACK FOODS WHILE WRITING

Originally posted at https://lovesgreatreadsblog.wordpress.com/

Snacking when writing is serious business. Foods need to fuel creativity and feed the soul, as well as mind and body. I have to admit, my snacks often come in the liquid variety, as you will see with first two entries.

  1. Coffee

Without coffee, there is no writing. More than any food product, a mug of something warm and caffeinated usually sits by my computer urging me on.

  1. Wine

When it’s too late for coffee, wine makes a good substitute. A glass of merlot relaxes me and helps put the stress of the work day behind me. It allows me to focus on what is really important — writing.

  1. Dark Chocolate

Besides the purported health benefits, a small piece of dark chocolate wakes the senses and reminds me there is more to the world than just what I see.

  1. Potato Chips

My sweet tooth satisfied, time to turn to something salty. I prefer plain potato chips, but I’ve been known to eat any type when in need of a snack. Salt and vinegar chips have a kick that reminds me of the diversity, not only in snack food, but in life.

  1. Frozen Cookie Dough

No one can resist this frozen delight even though the package clearly states do not eat without baking first. Writers have to be rebels once in a while.

  1. Justin’s Organic Peanut Butter Cups

I eat the organic version and pretend I am being healthy, but who can resist the flavor combination.

  1. Ritz Crackers

Motivation is something authors always consider in their characters. I also consider it in my snack food cracker choice. Ritz crackers sound healthier than chips, so I feel less guilty when consuming. But who knows for sure. I’m not planning on reading the label anytime soon and finding out the truth.

  1. Trail Mix

See number 7. Trail mix sound healthy even if it contains M&Ms. Who really wants to know the truth about the calorie count?

  1. Yogurt Covered Raisins

Raisins and yogurt both have health benefits. Do those same health benefits exist in this candied form? I tell myself they do. Again, see number 7.

  1. Ice Cream

On a hot summer day, when I’m getting ready to settle down and write, there is nothing better than something cold and sweet to hype me up. Thank you sugar rush!

Leave a Reply

